$7.99   Buy MP3 Album

More Info:

With the international success of her newest album No Deal, 2014 has been a breakthrough year for Brussels-based artist Melanie De Biasio. Dubbed the “Belgian Billie Holiday,” she continues to blur genre lines, carving out a place that is entirely and incomparably her own. In February, De Biasio will release an entirely remixed version of No Deal curated by long-standing BBC radio personality and DJ Gilles Peterson. The album will feature a remixed version of each song by a different artist. Late last week, Boiler Room premiered the remix of “The Flow” by Japanese electro-jazz outfit Hex, calling it a “beautiful and tripped-out percussive groover.”


The album features an all-star lineup of contributing artists including Jonwayne, Clap! Clap!, Chassol, Seven Davis Jr, The Cinemantic Orchestra, and even Peterson himself who collaborates with Simbad on “With Love/Sweet Darling Pain.” The album comes on the heels of the release of EELS’ remix of De Biasio’s “I Feel You.” The track premiered on Stereogum where it was called “a seductive jazzy ballad” with the remix creating “tension in the track, adding woodwind and string instruments that gradually crescendo throughout becoming “bewitchingly ominous and alluring in a chilling way.”

The Cinemantic Orchestra give “I’m Gonna Leave You” an intense reworking, while beat maker C. Crisci, aka Clap! Clap! Gives the same track an afro-beat slant. Seven Davis Jr gives title-track “No Deal” an old school house flavor, while LA’s Jonwayne coats “With All My Love” with a lush balm of hip-hop. Japan’s Toshio Matsuura (AKA Hex) adds an impressive urgency to “The Flow,” whilst France’s modern classical composer Chassol provides a downtempo and discordant take on “Sweet Darling Pain.”

No Deal is De Biasio’s sophomore album and was released in the US earlier this year following its tremendous success all over Europe. It was embraced by The Guardian, Wondering Sound, KCMP’s The Current, BBC, MOJO Magazine, LA Times, MTV Iggy, Q Magazine, and KCRW among many others. She was recently announced the winner for Belgium in the 2015 European Border Breakers Awards( EBBA), which celebrates the best new pop, rock and dance acts in Europe which have achieved cross-border chart success. Other winners include Hozier (Ireland), MO (Denmark), Milky Chance (Germany), and Todd Terje (Norway). In early October, De Biasio also became the first Belgian artist to perform on Later…with Jools Holland in two decades.